World Series of Poker: A guide to the most important poker tournament

It is no exaggeration to affirm that poker has grown dramatically in recent times. One of the major contributors to this rise is the World Series of Poker (WSOP). This is a series of poker tournaments that are held every year in Las Vegas. It has been sponsored by Caesars Entertainment since 2004. This competition originated in 1970 when a single poker tournament made of the best seven poker player were scheduled at the Horseshoe Casino by Benny Binion with a set start and stop time and a secret ballot of seven players to determine the winner. To know more about this competition, this guide will provide a deep insight into the World Series of Poker.

It was in 1969 that the idea of having a World Series of Poker emanated through the Texas Gambling Reunion event, which was held in Reno at the Holiday Hotel and Casino. The World Series of Poker would evolve into a set of tournaments that represented the brainchild of poker player Benny Binion. The first WSOP, which took place in 1970, involved some variants of poker, including Texas Hold ’em, five-card stud, and seven-card stud. Johnny Moss, who was the winner in 1970, was chosen by his peers as the World Champion of Poker. The most recent champions are Josh Arieh and Korey Aldemir. The former was crowned the player of the year while the latter was the main event winner.

With 101 events in 2020, most major poker variants are now played at the WSOP. In recent years, Texas hold ’em has accounted for over half of the events. During the series in June and July, events typically take place over one or several days. Because of the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020, the World Series of Poker adopted an online format but returned to in-person play on September 30, 2021, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Main Event

The main event of the World Series of Poker has been the no-limit Texas Hold ’em since 1972. Besides winning the largest prize of the tournament, as well as a gold bracelet, winners of this event will have their picture placed in the Gallery of Champions.

There have been more and more events in this tournament over the years, as well as more and more participants. Since 2004, the $10,000 no-limit hold’em “Main Event” has attracted thousands of entrants to the WSOP. As a result, the winner receives a multi-million dollar cash prize and a bracelet, which has become the most coveted award in the poker world. The winner of the World Series of Poker Main Event is considered the World Poker Champion.

Traditionally, an unofficial title of World Champion has been given to the winner of the main event of the World Series Of Poker. Yet, according to many people, the no-limit should not represent the standard for crowning the champion of poker.

In recent times, the World Series of Poker has hosted 101 events, often featuring most of the poker variants. Yet, more than half of the event has been Texas Hold ’em. The WSOP 2022 Main Event schedule has been announced and the tournament will take place over consecutive days from July 3 to July 16. However, this was not the case in 2012 and 2016 due to the United States presidential elections. The main events final tables only began in October.

Since May 2017, the WSOP has resorted to the old format of crowning the winner of the main event in July. After a hybrid online format was adopted in 2020 owing to the coronavirus pandemic, the event would declare a return back to live play that was scheduled to commence in Nevada in September 2021.

Records of the WSOP Main Event

These records below only include the World Series of Poker in the United States of America.

  • Most Main Event wins: United States Johnny Moss (3), United States Stu Ungar (3 times)
  • Most Main Event final tables: United States Jesse Alto (7 times)
  • Most Main Event money finishes: United States Berry Johnston (10 times)
  • Most Main Event wins in consecutive years: United States Doyle Brunson (2 times), United States Johnny Chan (2 times), United States Johnny Moss (2 times), United States Stu Ungar (2 times)
  • Most Main Event final tables in consecutive years: United States Bob Hooks (4 times, 1973–1976), United States Johnny Moss (4 times, 1971–1974)
  • Most Main Event money finishes in consecutive years: United States Ronnie Bardah (5 times, 2010–2014)
  • Highest Main Event earnings: United States Jamie Gold ($12,000,000)
  • Youngest Main Event winner: United States Joe Cada (21 years, 357 days)
  • Oldest Main Event participant: United States Jack Ury (97 years, 2010)
  • Oldest Main Event winner: United States Johnny Moss (66 years, 358 days)
  • Most Main Event participations: United States Howard Andrew (41, 1974–2014)

Related posts